Armagh Hurlers Prepare for Conor McGurk Final

January 22nd, 2015 | Hurling News

Armagh Hurlers Prepare for Conor McGurk Final

Armagh senior hurlers will take on Doire on Friday evening in the county’s first final of the year in the Conor McGurk tournament at 7.30pm at Queen’s University. Armagh have put in impressive performances in their two previous games with good wins over An Dún and the host university, Ollscoil na Ríona. The boys have been playing well under the new management team of Sylvester McConnell and Pádraig Ó Connor and hope to reproduce their form against a strong Derry side. As well as Sylvester and Pádraig, the senior hurlers have benefitted from the experience and expertise of a backroom team of Ballinascreen man Gabriel O’Kane, Cork’s Eoin Cadogan and John Crossey in recent months.

Speaking before the inaugural Conor McGurk final, Armagh senior hurling captain John Corvan said he and his team mates are very much looking forward to the challenge. “All of the boys have been putting in a great effort in training and we were delighted to get the opportunity to take part in this pre-season competition. We have a couple of good performances behind us and it’s always great to get into a final, so we’ll be giving it our best shot on Friday night. We have great respect for Derry and we know that they will also be taking this final seriously, but we look forward to the challenge on Friday night. The Conor McGurk tournament has been great preparation for our upcoming league campaign and the Nicky Rackard Cup.”

Vice-captain Kieran McKernan added “Things have been going well so far since the new management team came in. All of the boys have been putting in good work with Eoin Cadogan in the gym and Gabriel O’Kane on the field and we are looking forward to Friday’s game. The panel has gelled well from we first came together and it’s great to be involved in a final this early in the season. We know that Derry will provide stiff opposition on Friday night, but we are hoping to build on the performances in our opening games against Down and Queen’s and try and win the tournament.”

Friday’s game will be played at the Queen’s sports complex at the Dub on the Malone Road and all support would be welcome. The Conor McGurk tournament provided a welcome opportunity for pre-season competitive action and we would like to thank the Queen’s GAA club for organising it. Ar deireadh, guíonn muid uilig gach rath ar iománaithe Ard Mhacha agus ar an fhoireann bhainistíochta ar an Aoine in éadan Dhoire. We wish the Armagh hurlers and the management team the very best of luck on Friday and in their upcoming Allianz league and Nicky Rackard campaigns.

The Armagh panel for the Conor McGurk tournament final is as follows:
1. Simon Doherty             Naomh Eoin
2. Conor McKee               Lámh Dhearg
3. Ciaran Clifford              Cú Chulainn
4. Conor Devlin                 Cú Chulainn
5. Nathan Curry                 Na Fianna
6. Stephen Renaghan       Lámh Dhearg
7. Pauric Hughes              Na Fianna
8. John Corvan                  Lámh Dhearg
9. Cahal Carvill                  Na Fianna
10. Conor Corvan             Lámh Dhearg
11. Ryan Gaffney              Na Fianna
12. Shea Gaffney              Na Fianna
13. Martin Moan               Na Fianna
14. Eoin McGuiness          Na Seamrógaí
15. Declan Coulter            Cú Chulainn
16. Paudie Moan               Na Fianna
17. Stevie Keenan             Doire Núis
18. Artie McGuinness        Na Seamrógaí
19. Paddy Kelly                  Doire Núis
20. Connor Hannaway       Naomh Moininne
21. Paudie Lappin              Na Fianna
22. Adam Toal                   Na Fianna
23. Joe O’Connor               Craobh Rua
24. Paddy O’Connor          Craobh Rua
25. Kieran McKernan         Na Fianna
26. Ryan Conway              Lámh Dhearg
27. Davy McCreesh           Doire Núis
28. Ethan Carvill                Na Fianna
29. Odhran Curry              Na Fianna
30. David Carvill                 Na Fianna
31. Ruairí Fullerton            Lámh Dhearg
32. Conor McAnallen         Lámh Dhearg

Bainisteoir: Sylverster McConnell
Roghnóirí: Pádraig O’Connor, Gabriel O’Kane, John Crossey



Simply Fruit
Mac Interiors