Derrynoose launch Armagh Dream Team fundraiser

St Mochuas GAC Derrynoose in association with Armagh GAA have launched their latest fundraiser – Armagh Dream Team 1973 – 2023. The Dream Team is a consensus based on teams selected by an expert panel including, Jarlath Burns (GAA president-elect), Kieran McGeeney (current Armagh manager and 2002 All Ireland winning captain), Joe Kernan (2002 All Ireland winning manager), Niall McCoy (GAA Journalist) and Shaun Casey (The Sideline Eye). The diverse panel have a wealth of GAA knowledge, with experiences spanning each decade back to 1973.

Since 1973 The Orchard County have won 10 provincial titles, a Division One National League and an All-Ireland title. Armagh have also collected 23 All-Star Awards over the past 50 years. There is a wide-ranging list of players to be selected from including Armagh’s first ever All-Star, Paddy Moriarty, to the youngest player on the list, Rian O’Neill (24). There are some father and son combinations on the selection, the Kernan’s (Joe & Aaron) from Crossmaglen, the Rafferty’s (Peter & Ethan) from the Grange and the Moriarty’s (Paddy & Finnian) from Wolfe Tones.

Entrants will select their Armagh Dream Team from a list of nominees for each position, with an entry cost of £20. The prizes are £5,000 for the winner, £2,000 for second place and £1,000 for third place.

We hope that this fundraiser will lead to some lively debate among family and friends while also raising some money for Club Developments along with a donation being made to the Armagh GAA County Teams Training fund. Keep an eye out on Derrynoose GAC social media channels over the summer for highlight packages of each of the players available for selection. Select your Armagh Dream Team online now at

We use cookies to give you the best experience.