Clann Eireann



Donal McCarthy

Fón: 077 3885 4551



Niall Fagan

Fón: 077 2084 7687



County Board Delegate Name

Niall Fagan

Fón: 077 2084 7687



Ryan McCann

Fón: Contact Secretary



[dt_gap height=”50″]
The history of Gaelic games in Tannaghmore goes back as far as 1909 when a Lurgan team, the Davitt’s played in Mrs Ferris’s field. Although this was the beginnings of football in the area, it was only in 1910 that a local team, the Dwyers, was formed.
The Dwyers joined in the South-West Antrim League and played their first game in September 1910. They won their first league in 1916 and coveted Antrim Junior County championship in 1924. However the old stalwarts soon broke up and scattered and Dwyers went out of existence in 1929. A club called O’Neills ran for a year or so but football was not firmly established again until late in 1931 when the Fianna was formed. The Finna Club was the forerunner of the present Clann Eireann. With two teams and with St Una’s camogie team, Tannaghmore knew more Gaelic activity in the ‘old foggy meadow’ than it had ever known since 1910.
At a meeting held in 1935 between Joe Lavery, Charlie Walsh and Billy Barbour, Kevin Barry’s was launched and in 1937, when John O’Neill and James Joseph O’Neill joined the ranks, the name was changed to Clann Eireann, by which it is still known.
Clann Eireann played in the Lurgan and District League, which was revived in 1940. Clann Eireann won their first championship, the Junior County, in 1945, defeating Crossmaglen in Derrymacash. In 1954 Clann Eireann won our first Senior County championship but the great achievement of the Fifties was the building a community hall and Youth Club. Clann Eireann was now not just a Sporting Club but a Community Club as well. Clann Eireann continued to develop, opening a new field in 1970 and a social club in 1977.
Clann Eireann is today much more than just a thriving football club. We have All Ireland titles and winners in Handball, Ladies Football, Boxing and Cycling and provide teams in Netball, Darts, Pool and Jeet Kune Do. We have also produced many great servants to Armagh, most notably Alf Murray, president of our Association from 1964 to1967. There are many Armagh stalwarts including the likes of Gerry Fagan, Marie Hoye, Ambrose Lavery and Pat McMahon. Proud Clann Eireann people all.
[dt_gap height=”50″]

Simply Fruit
Mac Interiors