Peadar O Doirnins



Sean Toner

Fón: 028 30 888611



Thomas Smith

Fón: 079 2043 0351



County Board Delegate Name

Thomas McDonnell

Fón: 028 30 888169


Coaching Officer

Patrick  McQuade

Fón: 028 30 889088



[dt_gap height=”50″]


1884–  GAA itself founded in 1884.

1888 –  Forkhill enter a team called “FORKHILL MEN IN THE GAP” to compete in a tournament held in Camlough.

1904- “ FORKHILL GERALDINES”-  the name by which Forkhill was affiliated at Armagh Convention to enter the County Championship.  The fact that Forkhill was one of only 4 teams entered that year is surely a reflection of the great gaelic tradition and culture in the area at such an early stage in the GAA`S history.

1914-  “FORKHILL ROVERS” formed when a  gaelic side re-emerged in the village.

1923- The “ FORKHILL DREADNOTS” emerge, following the recovery of the GAA after the unsettling effects of The War of Independence and the Civil War.

1927 –  Forkhill reach their first county final, only to finish runners up to Keady- venue Camlough.

1928- Undaunted,  Forkhill reach the County final AGAIN! – only to be defeated on this occasion by Armagh Young Irelanders after a replay again in Camlough.

1938-  “ FORKHILL STARS” formed. A  talented team which went on to win the Collins Cup (twice) and later the South Armagh Championship.

By 1942, most of the Forkhill players were playing with CUCHULAINNS – an amalgamation of Forkhill and Mullaghbawn.

1942-  Subsequently, Cuchulainns went on to win the Junior Championship, defeating St Malachy`s by 2-6 to 1-5.

1948- Gaelic football returned to the village. “ FORKHILL STARS” were formed and continued to play up to 1974.

1954– Forkhill Stars  win South Armagh Junior League.

1962– Forkhill school win South Armagh Schools` League.

1963– Forkhill reach Junior Championship Final – beaten by Derrynoose 3-5 to 1-6.

1963- The Minors Oliver Plunketts ( an amalgamation of Forkhill,  Mullaghabawn, Dromintee and Killeavy) win South Armagh Minor Championship.


1965-  Forkhill beaten in final of Junior Championship by Portadown by 1-10 to 1-5.

1973–  Oliver Plunketts(Forkhill & Mullaghbawn) win Minor Championship defeating Portadown by 4-8 to 1-14.

1974-  Forkhill amalgamate with Mullaghbawn at Senior level to form OLIVER PLUNKETTS.

1979–  Forkhill re-formed and named PEADAR O` DOIRNIN in honour of the local poet and historian Peadar o` Doirnin.  Club enters Division 3B of Armagh All County League.

1979–  Forkhill win Division 3b, amassing 26 points out of a possible 28- the only unbeaten team in Armagh League football that year!

1979–  Forkhill win Division 3B  “Club of the Year.”

1981–  Forkhill win Junior Championship defeating Tullysarron 0-7 to 0-2.

1981–  Newry & Mourne Council purchase land to build playing fields. In addition, Tom Toner donated a plot of ground to the club to facilitate future developments.

1982–  Forkhill relegated to Division 4

1984–  Forkhill finish 3rd in Division 4.

1985–  Forkhill gain promotion to Division 3 with a last match win over Collegeland 1-6 to 0-4.

1987–  Forkhill gain promotion to Division 2.

1988-  Forkhill relegated to Division 3.

1987–  Official opening of Forkhill playing field, “Pairc Ui Dhoirnin” by His Eminence Cardinal Tomas O Fiach.

1996-  Resumption of under  age football in the Club.

2000-   Oliver Plunkett`s  Primary School Forkhill win All County School`s League.

2002-   Commencement of Ladies football in the Club.

2004-   Turning of the sod to mark the commencement of building of clubrooms.

2008-  Opening of clubrooms.

2008-   Forkhill Seniors  emerge winners of Division 4.

2009-  Newly promoted Forkhill  Seniors compete in Division 3.

2010-   Currahill Blues (amalgamation of Forkhill, Correnshigo and Cullaville) win Armagh County Championship.

2012-   O` Doirnin Blues  win Minor All County Championship.

2013-  Forkhill  Seniors win Junior Division A League- promoted to Division 2 for 2014 season.

2013 – Forkhill  Seniors reach semi final of Junior Championship- defeated by Annaghmore.

2013-  Minors- O`Doirnin Blues (amalgamation of Forkhill and Cullaville) win Division 3A of the Armagh League.

2013-  Minor Ladies win the B  Division Minor League Shield.

[dt_gap height=”50″]

Simply Fruit
Mac Interiors